ECC honors spring athletes

By Garth Shanklin
Sports Editor

With the spring sports season officially at an end, the Eastern Cincinnati Conference has honored local athletes for their performances this spring.
On the baseball diamond, Milford’s Tom Kilgore earned coach of the year honors, with Zach Byron, Calvin Hunter, Mitch Mierke and Dylan Stewart earning first-team honors for the Eagles. West Clermont’s Cole Ayers, Cal Conley, Kyle Music and Gavin Pitts were named second-team performers, along with Milford’s Anthony Bassano, Kyle Minton and Brady Sluder. Milford’s Jared Dettmer and West Clermont’s Tyler Steinker were also named honorable mentions.
In softball, five West Clermont Lady Wolves earned first-team honors: Maddie Beasley, Nicole Brown, Riley Hampton, Payge Suggs and Kinsley Ventura. Milford’s Sydnee Harris, Hillary Huffer, Katelyn Reynolds and Lyn Varner also were first-team selections.
A trio of Lady Eagles were named to the second-team squad: Emily Allphin, Olivia Craycraft and Morgan Whitaker. West Clermont’s Sam Beach, Danielle Cooper, Reece Hampton and Jordyn McPhillips were also second-team selections.
Kyrsten Brown (Milford) and Kaila Nutter (West Clermont) were named honorable mentions.
In track and field, Milford’s A.J. Dickerson was named a second-team performer in the 800 meter run. Teammate Harris Craycraft earned a second-team nod in the 1600 meter run, with Manny Fernandez picking up second team honors in the 110 meter hurdles.
West Clermont’s Devin Boykin was named an honorable mention in the 400 meter dash, and Milford’s Dylan Hughes was an honorable mention in the 100 meter dash.
On the girl’s side, Milford’s Andrea Armstrong was a first-team performer in the 400 meter dash and second-team honors in the long jump. West Clermont’s Morgan Walsh earned a second-team nod in the 800 meter run, and teammate Chalel Crawford earned honorable mention honors in the long jump.
Milford’s Julia Miller earned honorable mention in the high jump.
Milford’s Holden Owens earned second-team honors in boys’ tennis, with teammate Ben Mason picking up an honorable mention. West Clermont’s Cody Payer was also named an honorable mention.
Four Eagles earned first-team boys’ lacrosse honors: Dax Creager, Ryan Hezlep, Cameron Kells and A.J. Teague were first-team selections. Michael Waltz was a second-team performer for the Eagles, and Gabe Tonucci earned an honorable mention.
On the girls’ side, Milford’s Sarah Cardell and Emily Stiles were both named first-team performers. Angel Dominguez and Sydney Hogan were second-team nods, and Ellen Victory was an honorable mention.