Rexroat receives Fulbright Award

Brooks Rexroat of Marshall University has received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program grant to Russia in Creative Writing from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. Rexroat will be researching and lecturing at Petrozavodsk State University as part of a project to explore the use of creative writing workshops as a learning tool for students of English as a Second Language. The MU English faculty member will also conduct research for a pair of creative projects.

Rexroat, a Clermont County, Ohio native, is a 2003 graduate of Morehead State University in Kentucky with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Communication and Print Journalism. He earned a Master of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing from Southern Illinois University in 2011. A 2014 Bread Loaf Bakeless Camargo Fellow at the Camargo Foundation in Cassis, France, his first novel, Pine Gap is due later this year from Canadian publisher Peasantry Press.

At Petrozavodsk State University, Rexroat will lecture alongside Russian linguist Liudmila Kukhareva, using the creative writing workshop model to sharpen conversational skills for native Russian speakers who are training to become English teachers. “The American-style writing workshop trains close attention on many of the skills that are often hardest for second-language learners of English to develop,” Rexroat said. “I look forward to joining my Russian colleagues and finding common space for these disciplines to interact.” Kukhareva, a lecturer at PetrSU, said, “I am really looking forward to starting our joint course with Professor Rexroat as this experience will be highly beneficial both for the students at Petrozavodsk State University and for us as professionals engaged in the collaborative process of teaching.”

Rexroat is one of more than 1,200 U.S. citizens who will teach, conduct research, and provide expertise abroad for the 2016-2017 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement as well as record of service and demonstrated leadership in their respective fields.

United States Department of State · Bureau of Educational and Cultural ­­­Affairs · Washington, DC · 20522 ·

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to build relations between the people of the United States and the people of other countries that are needed to solve global challenges. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program, which operates in over 160 countries worldwide.

This year marks the 70th anniversary of the Fulbright Program’s establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. Since then, the Program has given more than 360,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbrighters address critical global challenges – from sustainable energy and climate change to public health and food security – in all areas, while building relationships, knowledge, and leadership in support of the long-term interests of the United States and the world. Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in many fields, including 54 who have been awarded the Nobel Prize, 82 who have received Pulitzer Prizes, and 33 who have served as a head of state or government.

Fulbright recipients are among over 50,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars.

For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State, please visit or contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Press Office by telephone 202-632-6452 or e-mail

For additional information about the grantee and his home and host institutions, visit,, and