3-time champion Lions are well represented in All-SBC honors

The New Richmond Lions pose with their Southern Buckeye Conference American Division trophy. The Lions have won the league each of the past three years.

The New Richmond Lions pose with their Southern Buckeye Conference American Division trophy. The Lions have won the league each of the past three years.
By Chris Chaney
Sun staff

Another strong season and conference championship for the New Richmond Lions golf team has led to a plethora of recognition for head coach Phil Heflin and his team. However, the Lions weren’t the only members of the Southern Buckeye Conference to garner multiple nods on the end-of-the-season All-Conference teams with Clermont County schools Amelia, Batavia and Clermont Northeasterns all placing numerous linksters on the league honor roll.

The All-Star teams are compiled by awarding First and Second Team honors by virtue of an individual’s finish in a year-long competition that encompasses four 9-hole rounds and one 18-hole round played against their fellow SBC opponents.

In the American Division, the Lions of New Richmond took home the hardware for the third consecutive season behind the steady play of junior Player of the Year Chris Mazzaro and under the tutelage of Coach of the Year Heflin, who won the award for the fourth consecutive season.

Mazzaro boasted a 36.40 9-hole average for the season, which ranked him first in the SBC and third overall in the city. Mazzaro medaled at the year-end tournament held at Cedar Trace on Sept. 21, firing a 3-over par 74.

Joining the junior on the First Team from New Richmond were teammates Bryce Kroeger and Kyle Heidlage, both of whom will return for their senior seasons in 2014.

Kroeger was the lone Lion to advance out of the sectional tournament, finishing in a tie for 13th overall and fourth among individuals on non-qualifying teams. Kroeger shot an 84 at the district tournament to finish in a tie for 35th.

Daman Abner, another junior for the Lions, was a Second Team selection.

Joining New Richmond in the First Team honors on the American side of the league were Trent Edwards and Gavin Joyce of Amelia. The Barons finished second to New Richmond as a team. Sophomore Evan Daniel and junior Austin Meenach were Second Team selections also from Amelia.

Sophomore Mitchell McElfresh of Bethel-Tate rounded out the six First Teamers and joined Kroeger as the second member of the American Division to represent at the district tournament.

McElfresh shot an 81 at the sectional tournament, which placed him in a tie for 9th overall and third among individuals. And like Kroeger, McElfresh shot an 84 at Weatherwax Golf Course in the district tournament.

Doug Dorton, the promising freshman from Goshen, was a Second Team selection.

On the other side of the conference, Georgetown captured the individual accolades as well as the team title with Trent Poe being named Player of the Year and head coach Sheri Griffith taking Coach of the Year.

Poe was a district qualifier, a moniker only Austin Conner of Batavia, a First Team selection, can also claim as the senior Bulldog shot an 81 to qualify out of sectionals and followed it up with a 99 at Weatherwax.

Fellow senior and teammate Kyle Grant flanked Conner on the Second Team.

Also earning Second Team distinction in the National Division were CNE Rockets Jerod Ansteatt, a sophomore, and junior Kiefer Cunningham.

Felicity’s Jordan Utter and Williamsburg’s Josh Wells, juniors both, rounded out the Second Team in the National.