Felicity girls have a best-ever soccer campaign

Felicity’s varsity girls soccer team enjoyed one of the best seasons in the 11-year history of the program at Felicity-Franklin High.

The Cardinals achieved an overall record of 7-5-2 and the Red and White was second in the National Division of the Southern Buckeye Conference with a standard of 5-2-1.

“We had a great start and then five or six of the girls got concussions. Not all of them were able to come back,” said head coach Amber Chandler, herself a Felicity graduate and student-athlete.

“The girls were very determined, very mature, and they were skilled. They became a very tough team,” Chandler said very proudly. “We’ll eventually were able to get some of those talented girls back.

The Felicity offense was usually paced by the play of senior center forward Shelby Lucas, senior left wing Hillary White, and her twin sister, left halfback Jordan White.

Sophomore right back, sweeper, and fullback Kelsey Arkenau and junior center halfback and fullback Arica Stutz were pointed by their mentor for outstanding performances both offensively and defensively.

The defensive standouts were singled out as being senior sweeper Mackenzie Dunaway, senior right back Brittany Sowers, and senior goalkeeper Erin Meyer.

Their coach was proud of her senior leadership that she described as “great.” The other fine senior leaders on the Cards were Shayla Baker and Bridget Hazenfield.

“The future looks promising. We have talented sophomores and juniors who have come off the bench and played well with all of the injuries we’ve gone through. And I expect some more good players to come out for the team in the future,” Chandler concluded.

The remainder of the Felicity varsity roster includes juniors Taylor Louderback, Harlee McMahan, and Dani Peters, sophomores Lexi Faubion, Crissy Paskow, and Kim Wilson, and freshmen McKayla Jacobs, Caitlin Obermeyer, and Allie Stroub.

The head coach of the National Division of the Southern Buckeye chose seven of the southeastern Clermont countians as members of the all-star team – Dunaway, Lucas, Sowers, and Hillary White (first team) and Arkenau, Stutz, and Jordan White (second team).