Grant winners recognized

Recipients of the 2011 – 2012 Educational Excellence Grants are, from left, Mahalia Burleson, Gallia County, Sarah Abell, Highland County, Olivia McGovern, Gallia County, Kaci Shoemaker, Gallia County; middle row, Kelly Cole, SOACDF Educational Assistance Committee Chair, Annie Rhoads, Highland County, Justin Payne, Lawrence County, Heidi Mitchell, Brown County, Katie Fellure, Gallia County and Brandi Unger, Adams County; back row, Pat Raines, SOACDF Board Chair, Don Branson, SOACDF Executive Director and Dylan Kattine, Brown County. Not pictured are Kirby Keltner, Highland County and Casey Taylor, Brown County.

The Southern Ohio Agricultural & Community Development Foundation Board of Trustees met Friday, June 17, at the Nationwide & Ohio Farm Bureau 4-H Center in Columbus, Ohio to recognize the recipients of the 2011 – 2012 Educational Excellence Competitive Grant.

The Educational Excellence Grant is a one time grant of up to $7,500 towards tuition, on campus housing, lab fees and books to be used at an accredited institution. Applicants were scored by a committee on a combination of written essays and personal interviews.

Applications for the 2012 – 2013 Educational Excellence Competitive Grant will be available at the SOACDF office or Farm Service Agencies in Southern Ohio in mid October. For more details, visit us at