Clermont County represented at state meet by a talented group of Special Olympians

The 41st Annual Ohio Special Olympics State Summer Games took place at the Jesse Owens Track Stadium in Columbus on the campus of Ohio State University.

A total of 71 of Ohio’s 88 counties were represented in the competition that included approximately 2,500 athletes. The athletes and coaches came from county Special Olympics programs, county boards of developmental disabilities, public schools (independent and consolidated), independent sport and training facilities, county educational service centers, private community living organizations, and Ohio Developmental Centers.

Competition was held in 12 sports – archery, aquatics, Bocce, cycling, gymnastics, power lifting, roller skating, soccer, softball throw, tennis, track and field, and volleyball.

The official press release from Special Olympics Ohio, states, “Special Olympics Ohio provides year-round sports training and competition for children and adults with intellectual disabilities, giving them opportunities to develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, and experience joy as they participate in the sharing of gifts and friendship with their own families, other Special Olympics athletes, and the community.

The members of the Clermont County team and the event(s) in which they will be competing are Rocky Arnett (bowling), Zach Barrett (softball throw and track and field), Kirsten Carlson (softball throw and track and field), Dwayne (Billy) Castle (bowling), Ryan Chowning (softball throw and track and field), Mark Drew (pentathlon and track and field), Amber Dunaway (bowling), Brian Dunkmann (bowling), Emily Fleming (bowling), Jackie Foy (bowling), Chris Gerth (bowling), Amanda Haines (bowling), Denise Hendrickson (bowling), Marco Huber (bowling), Daniel Jones (track and field), Gary Kasarcik (bowling), Jessika Kelch (softball throw and track and field), Misty Kincaid (bowling), Rebbecca Lemar (track and field), George McCollum softball throw and track and field), Jeff McMillan (track and field), Catherine Mooi (bowling), Asia Moore (softball throw and track and field), Jordan Osborne (softball throw and wheelchair race), Krystal Price (bowling), Teresa Reilley (bowling), John Thieman (softball throw and track and field), Ellen Thompson (bowling), William Thompson (bowling), Harvey Troxell (bowling), Jessica Walker (track and field), Holly Walsh (track and field), David Whittaker (track and field), and Delbert Witt (softball throw and track and field).

The head coach is Judy Middeler, a member of the faculty and a coach at New Richmond High School. The other coaches and chaperones are Joan Arthur, Rhonda Cain, Amy Carey, Lana Gilday, Mindy Graser, Melody Haines, Gale Hall, Doug Jones, Shawnea Kelch, Rob Lorenzen, Rick Mahan, Molly Miller, and Casandra Slone.

Carol Otten is the local coordinator of the Clermont County Special Olympics.