Lions, Eagles second in sectionals; 44 matmen advance to district tourney

New Richmond and Milford placed second in their respective sectional wrestling tournaments. A total of 44 wrestlers from Clermont County high schools have earned the right to advance to the district tournments that will take place this weekend. Nine of these grappling gladiators won individual sectional crowns.

All five Clermont County teams placed among the top ten in the 14-team Division II sectional that took place at Goshen High School. Roger Bacon was the victor with 224.5 points, New Richmond (NR) was second with 210, Bethel-Tate (BT) fourth 135, Goshen (G) fifth 109, Batavia (Bat – its first year in Division II) 75.5, and Clermont Northeastern (CNE) 10th 71.

A total of 25 grapplers from county schools earned their way to the District Tournament that will also take place at Goshen this weekend. The top four finishers in each weight class qualified for the district tournament and the fifth place matman is the alternate.

Jason Robbe (Bat-130 pounds), Rob Gacad (Bat-135), Sean Adams (BT-140), Aaron Egan (NR-152), and Alvis Williams (NR-215) were champions of their respectrive weight classes. Robbe is the only county wrestler who competed in the state championship tournament last year. For Gacad it was his first-ever tournament title. Adams is just a freshman. Egan has the best overall record among county grapplers with a 39-2 record.

Runners-up were Joe Dennis (McNicholas freshman 103-pounder is a Bethel resident), Kenny Stephens (G-112), Kenny Nissel (BT-130), Richie Ayres (CNE-145), Ren Nealan (NR-171), Shaun Larkin (G-189), and Rob Weidle (G-215).

Third placers were Luke Sexson (NR-130), Josh Smith (NR-135), Bryan Martineck (NR-145), James Gibbs (NR-160), Mark McAninch (G-171), Josh Hicks (NR-189), and Ryan Giltz (G-275). In fourth place was Shane Lanigan (BT-119), Tyler Siegel (NR-125), Drew Napier (BT-135), Greg Brusman (G-152), Roger Boucher (BT-171), and Chris Distler (CNE-189). Fifth placers were Kyle Rose (NR-112), Nick Samad (NR-119), Tony Parker (Bat-125), Scott Simpson (CNE-130), Mike Hawkins (NR-140), Eric Craycraft (BT-145), David Rigg (Bat-152), Thomas Anspach (BT-189), Jimmy Spencer (CNE-215), and Bryan Calhoun (BT-275).

Division I

Milford was runner-up in the Division I Sectional that took place at Wilmington High School. The Eagles (M) amassed 213 points; Moeller won with 310. Amelia (A) was fifth among the eight teams with 107.5.

John Reese (A-119) and George Emmons (M-215) earned sectional crowns.

Clermont County runners-up were Zach Sherman (M-103), Chris Newberry (M-112), Ryan Hadley (M-145), Colby Ferguson (M-152), and T. J. O