New Richmond, Milford runners-up in conference wrestling tournaments; Smith, Egan earn honors

Western Brown has won its third consecutive Southern Buckeye Conference Wrestling Tournament. The classic took place at Bethel-Tate High School. The Broncos (WB) registered 175 points, New Richmond (NR) 147.5, Blanchester (Bl) 132.5, Bethel-Tate (BT) 89, Goshen (G) 72, Batavia (Bat) 62.5, Clermont Northeastern (CNE) 47, and Williamsburg (Wms) 26.

Western Brown head coach Scott Smith, a New Richmond graduate and record holder, was chosen as the coach of the year, and New Richmond senior 152-pounder and two-time SBC champ Aaron Egan was selected as the Wrestler of the Year. Bethel senior 125 pounder Shane Lanigan and Batavia senior 130 pounder Jason Robbe earned their third SBC titles.

Following are the championship finals of each weight class and the other Clermont County placers.

103-pounds: Joe Manning (Bl) pinned Tyler Hooper (WB) 3-minutes, 52-seconds. Adam Stockmeir (G-3).

112: Kenny Stephens (G) over Kyle Rose (NR) 17-5. Cory Disbennett (BT-3).

119: Nick Samad (NR) over Larry Smith (Bat) 10-7. Graham Rose (BT-4).

125: Lanigan (BT) over Allen Schweickart (Wms) 7-3. Tony Parker (Bat-3).

130: Robbe (Bat) over Michael Sheppard (WB) 7-3. Luke Sexson (NR-3) and Scott Simpson (CNE-4).

135: Ryan Brownlee (WB) pinned Rob Gacad (Bat) 3:06. Kenny Nissel (BT-4).

140: Damon Barr (Bl) over Tyler Woodruff (WB) 8-2. Sean Adams (BT-3) and Mike Hawkins (NR-4).

145: Richie Ayres (CNE) pinned Jeff Panno (Bl) 4:37. Brian Martineck (NR-3).

152: Egan (NR) pinned Jon O