Deserving sports standouts receive post-season recognition

Athletes from Amelia, Bethel-Tate, and Glen Este high schools have been honored for their skills in representing their respective schools in interscholastic competition.


Eric MacFarland and Brittany Vinson – Male and Female Athlete of the Year (as voted upon by the coaching staff).

Bryan Jett and Amber Corcoran – Tony Franceshina Memorial Athletes of the Year.

Joe Farley and Sally Varney – Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Awards.

Megan Smith and Brittany Vinson – OHSAA Scholar Athletes of the Year.

Julie Sperry – United States Army Scholar Athlete of the Year.


The academic team was champion of the Southern Buckeye Conference American Division. Team members were Lisa Howison, Julie Miller, R. T. Moore, Eric Smith, Luke Smith, Joe Stamper, and Brian Wagner (seniors), Billy Carnahan, Aaron Eiben, Eric Fries, Jessica Gullett, Katy Havran, Elizabeth Reed, and Andrew Wash (juniors), and Leah Fields, Nicole Floyd, Melissa O